HMRI Board

Mr Michael DiRienzo
Non-Executive Director - HMRI (HNELHD)

Mr Michael DiRienzo, Chief Executive of Hunter New England Health, is responsible for all services across the district from small rural community health centres to major tertiary referral hospitals. With 17,000 staff and an expenditure budget in excess of $2.5 billion per annum, Hunter New England Health provides services to a community of more than 920,370 people across an area of 130,000 square kilometres.

Following a career in Finance, Supply and logistics in the manufacturing industry, Mr DiRienzo joined Health in 1999. He has since held various Executive Director positions throughout the Health Service.

Mr DiRienzo is a Board Director of the Hunter New England Central Coast Primary Health Network.  Mr DiRienzo is also a member of the Governing Board NSW Regional Health Partners.

As Chief Executive of Hunter New England Health, Mr DiRienzo has led the implementation of a range of initiatives that support staff to put patients at the centre of everything they do, provide patient-centred care and build a positive workplace culture.

Mr DiRienzo holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Newcastle.

Other current directorships in public and significant companies and institutions
Board member – Hunter New England and Central Coast Primary Health Network

Service as a director
Appointed to HMRI Board 21st April 2011

Special responsibilities
Board Development Committee

*Indicates a compulsory field


Kyle Loades
Chair, HMRI Board and Non-Executive Director – HMRI (community)


Professor Janet Nelson
Non-Executive Director – HMRI (University of Newcastle)
Professor Mike Calford - HMRI
Institute Director
Non-Executive Director - HMRI (HNEH)
Non-Executive Director - HMRI (HNELHD)
Kirsten Molloy
Non-Executive Director – HMRI (Community)
Kirsten Mulley
Non-Executive Director – HMRI (Community)
Elizabeth Sullivan
Non-Executive Director – HMRI (University of Newcastle)
Scott Walkom
Non-Executive Director – HMRI (Community) | Chair, HMRI Foundation
Professor John Wiggers
Non-Executive Director - HMRI (HNELHD)
Professor Alex Zelinsky AO
Non-Executive Director - HMRI (University of Newcastle)