Laureate Professor Nick Talley named Distinguished Alumni of Mayo Clinic

Jan 14 2021

Distinguished Laureate Professor Nick Talley is one of six people in the world to be awarded the honour of Distinguished Alumni of Mayo Clinic for 2020.

Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organisation committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, whole-person care to patients and is one of the largest not‐for‐profit, academic health systems in the USA. Prior to joining the University of Newcastle in 2010 as Pro Vice-Chancellor (and Dean) of the Faculty of Health and Medicine, Nick was formerly Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida where he held the rank of Professor of Medicine and Professor of Epidemiology.

The Mayo Clinic Alumni Association, formed in 1915, has more than 25,000 members who live and work in more than 80 countries around the world. Since 1981, Mayo Clinic has presented the annual Distinguished Alumni Award to alumni who have demonstrated exceptional contributions in the field of medicine, including medical practice, research, education, and administration.

Recipients are usually invited to attend the annual Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award dinner (typically held in October) but due to the COVID-19 pandemic the event has been postponed to a time when it is safe to convene.

Nick is considered one of the world’s leading gastroenterologists, having published over 1,000 original and review articles in the peer-reviewed literature, and recently being rated #1 globally in his discipline for career-long citation impact. He was deeply honoured to receive this accolade and was keen to acknowledge those who have been on the academic journey with him.

“I’m really proud to be acknowledged in this way. My research at Mayo Clinic and then later here at the University of Newcastle has relied heavily on having great teams of people to work with and to them I am very grateful,” said Nick.

In his message to announce this year’s recipients of the award, Professor Fredric B. Meyer M.D. Enterprise Chair of Neurosurgery and Executive Dean of Education at Mayo Clinic congratulated the six distinguished alumni who have now joined the ranks of those who have served as role models while practicing the high principles that are recognised as exemplary of the founders of Mayo Clinic.